Dear  Hugh

Just going through my files on the Daverns & compering notes on your site, I thought I should drop  you a line and see if you could alter a few names & dates you have on my family.
I have been meaning to do it for ages.  I wonder where you got them from ?

My name is Diane Smith & I married Clifton Joseph Smith . His grand mother  was Margaret DAVERN.  

My name was Diane VESSEY spelt with two ss. Born 3/5/1941 Otahuhu
My husband Clifton Joseph Smith Married at Otahuhu 21/11/1970   Born Rotorua 14/9/1937 Died Power Boat accident Wellington 20/2/1988 Wellington

You have done an amazing job on your family tree.   Many hours of work   Like you I am a keen genealogist  and have traced my VESSEY family back to 1626 My grandfather  was a Wintere –Wintere Rd, in Papatoetoe. named after them.Their name was originally Winter and some where along the line they added an  “e” just to make us researcher work a little bit harder  I suspect.

My Grandmother was a Murphy. My great uncle James Murphy  who never married ,left money  & land  to  Otahuhu to build  Murphys Park in Otahuhu .I have done these trees also.-well I am working on them  when I think I have hit a blank wall  another name crops up.

My sister – in-law Pauline Muir  ( I probably can supply you with more dates on her family )    thats my  husbands  sister ,has just completed a book on the Waites. Beryl Waite married(Thomas Smith  b.12/11/1905 )It is on your tree.   Together we have had some fun times,going with our cameras  travelling  from Wellington to Kopuru taking photos of gravestones Only genealogist would know what I mean.

I looked you up in the phone book & I see I dont live far from you,  I  haved lived on the Great South Rd. Papatoetoe for 35 years. and seen the changes.

Well regards for now & let me know If I can be of any more help to you.

Regards
Diane

Leave a Reply

